what’s YOUR ecological footprint?

footprint calc

I am currently taking a free course about the U.S. Food System on Coursera. Our first “assignment” was to take this quiz to calculate our individual footprints. It takes all but 8 minutes, is super fun, and you’ll be surprised at the results:

http://www.footprintnetwork.org/en/index.php/GFN/page/calculators/

I ended up needing 1.6 of the Earth if everybody were to live like me. I was ashamed of this until I went on the class discussion forum and saw that most people averaged about 4 Earths. I guess not driving and not consuming meat helps. I do travel alot, though, between California and Sydney and Taiwan. Hopefully when I settle down I’ll bring down my footprints on traveling.

How do your footprints compare?

One thought on “what’s YOUR ecological footprint?

Leave a Reply

